Questions about Core_Campaign modding

Mapping & modding Fallout Tactics and reviewing maps thereof.
Flamescreen
Vault Hero
Vault Hero

Questions about Core_Campaign modding

Post by Flamescreen »

A few days ago a new DAC visitor, 'Prince of Whispers' asked me several questions about modding the core campaign. I promised to look it over, but to date I couldn't find any deffinitive answers to his questions(and I'm not that good at modding), so I thought I would post his mail so anyone with knowledge and time could help him were I couldn't.

Well, here it goes:
My Query/situation :- (note : I play v1.27)

I am interested in placing my own created character (main character) in the single player game to start off, then after brahmin wood, when i reach bunker alpha, have an addition of 5 other own-created characters (my squaddies) made available to me in the recruit pool IN ADDITION to the usual list.

I realise I could just swap the .ent files of my squaddies with the existing characters in recruit pool by renaming my .ent filenames, but in doing so, it replaces the computer NPCS rather than adding new recruits to the list. If i rename my file to hf11.ent it would take the place of Torn, but I won't see Torn ever again.

WHAT I HAVE DONE SO FAR : -

1) MAIN CHARACTER

for my main character, I renamed the .ent file to "prefab1.ent", thereby replacing MICK, but that's okay. Mick does not appear in the game as an npc anyway.

PROBLEM : -

In order to select 'Tough guy'{I guess he also wants to do that}, you can't just take him as is, at the pre-generated character screen you have to choose 'Modify' in order to activate the 'Tough guy' switch. By doing so, my character's story description (which i modified in one of the locale folders) dissappears. Is there any way to avoide this? Or better yet, to re-generate a new description for my main character (don't forget it is still renamed as Prefab1.ent) while in progress of the game?