Duck and Cover Forum Index

  Duck and Cover  •  FAQ  •  Search  •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   •  Register  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

 Support DAC!
 Known FoT bugs... View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Flamescreen
Vault Hero
Vault Hero


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 1017
Location: Stone of Light Land

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 7:04 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Post here everything you find.



{Btw, Max, since the other thread is locked, I want to say that I'll probably use only the name of your ghoul town(perhaps some of the landmarks if there are any) because:a) I don't want to steal your hardwork, b) I think mine is going to be after yours(past FO2), so obviously things have to change...}
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Viktor
Desert Wanderer
Desert Wanderer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 530
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 7:35 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

With regard to grenades and rocket launchers, I regularly see grenades and rockets thrown/launched by my PC, NPCs and enemies that just disappear into thin air - no sound/explosion/damage at all!!!

Have they found a 'code hole' in the map or did the combat engine just forget about them mid-flight?? As I often find my PC and NPC can 'see' an enemy in a level above/below in multi layer maps, my money's on the former reason.....



PS - I'm playing V1.27 on a 1.7 MHz P4 with 512K DDR RAM and a Geforce MX400 (64MB) running Windows ME and DirectX V8.1.
View user's profileSend private message
OnTheBounce
TANSTAAFL
TANSTAAFL


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 2257
Location: Grafenwoehr, Oberpfalz, Bayern, Deutschland

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 9:33 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Situation:

When using "Steal" to transfer equipment from one character to another equipment can be duplicated.

Problem:

If Character A uses "Steal" to transfer equipment to/from Character B, selecting Character B while the double inventory interface is open lets you duplicate equipment by transfering it from the right window to the left window.

OTB
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
TheReaper
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 11:29 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Very useful bug I discovered.

Get items for absolutely nothing!!!

Talk to an NPC who will gamble, put nothing in your column and put what you want into the NPC's column, keep pressing the gamble button and eventually, you will get the items with no danger to your stuff. It takes more presses with a lower gamble skill and less presses with a higher gamble skill.

Note: The third quartermaster gambles (get items for free! icon_mrhappy )
Roving_Rabid_Raider
Scarf-wearing n00b
Scarf-wearing n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 47
Location: Asia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 1:27 am Reply with quoteBack to top

While I'm playing the game, I had something else to do, but I dont want to quit, because I'm trying the tough guy mode. So I leave my PC for like, 2 hours and when I get back to it, I moved a character and then I pressed 'P' for the pipboy, and it crashes and a window says something like 'BOS error' and it boots me out to my desktop.

I didnt run anything in my background and I also turned the system standby or screen saver off when I play the game.

Oops, this is not a bug, it's more of a trouble shooting kind. My mistake, sorry! :wink:
View user's profileSend private messageICQ Number
Max-Violence
Wandering Hero
Wandering Hero


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 1221
Location: In my own personal vault

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 1:31 am Reply with quoteBack to top

FS: That sounds good to me! smile

Bugs:

AI -> Human -> AI doesn't work

Male Reaver-Huge actors can't use Rocket Launchers unless they are crouched or prone.

Hopefully, if the stars are aligned correctly, we'll be gettin' a fix for the second one.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Max-Violence
Wandering Hero
Wandering Hero


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 1221
Location: In my own personal vault

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 1:53 am Reply with quoteBack to top

AI -> Human: New squad member can't set sentry modes or accuracy thresholds until the game is Saved then Loaded
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Max-Violence
Wandering Hero
Wandering Hero


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 1221
Location: In my own personal vault

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 2:48 am Reply with quoteBack to top

If an AI patrol route is moving when the game is saved, and the player loads thats save, the patrol will start heading in the opposite direction. i.e. if the patrol is going from WP #0 to WP#1, upon a save and load, the patrol will go to WP #0

If a PC is walking, and the game is saved, the PC will start running when the game is loaded.

And no, I haven't "discovered" all of these this recently. It's just that now I've a place to post 'em smile
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Max-Violence
Wandering Hero
Wandering Hero


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 1221
Location: In my own personal vault

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 2:54 am Reply with quoteBack to top

The "info" type of circles on the minimap are blue in the editor, and grey in-game. Only a real problem if the circle is over something white (i.e. snow).
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
BloodGod
Regular
Regular


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 52
Location: Top of the food chain

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 6:30 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

this 'bug' pertains to the perk adrenaline rush

in an encounter, after Adrenaline Rush had kicked in (HP below 1/2), if you leave to the overland map and HEAL through overland travel, upon reaching your destination . . . even though you might have healed to FULL health, your ST is still increased at + 01!

ie. the Rush won't come off...

thereafter, your ST is forever at + 01 unless . . .

one method i have discovered to rectify this is by getting Rushed AGAIN, (directly damaging yourself, run into fights and get whacked on purpose, whatever just as long as you get your HP under 1/2 again..), but don't let TIME HEAL YOUR WOUNDS. heal immediately using stims/first aid/doc/or even happy pies (food).
Change and effect, to and from Adrenaline rush-HP, is calculated in this case, and you will return to normal strength.

have not realised whether similar situations apply to die hard or not. i realise this might have something more to do with "healing rate-time scaling/spanning" thing per game day when healing rate kicks in , rather than with the perk adrenaline rush itself; this is because i have also encountered anomalies concerning crippled wounds, poison, radiation effects . . . which have some difficulty healing by themselves over time (a DAMN long time-spanning a few game months!! this IS tested..).
i mean... it could be the same problem.
View user's profileSend private message
BloodGod
Regular
Regular


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 52
Location: Top of the food chain

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 6:37 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

could someone please tell me what is the deal with death sense? why is perception PERMANENTLY increased by 2 points (for humans to a max of 12) at all times?

if you have a perception of 11, and get +2 from death sense, does FOT the program, internally see your perception as really 12, 13, or 11 + 2, or 11...?

ambiguity in wording of death sense : does the bonus to detect sneak part apply only in the dark, or at all times then?!!


Last edited by BloodGod on Fri Apr 26, 2002 4:07 am; edited 1 time in total
View user's profileSend private message
Sirgalahadwizard
Vault Dweller
Vault Dweller


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 151
Location: 7th floor of the west-tek facility.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2002 12:48 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Errors:

Sometimes the game is horrendously slow. I have a computer sufficient enough to kick the tar outta FoT when it comes to speed, but I often find myself listening to weapon sounds repeat 2-3 times and characters doing herky-jerky movements across the screen (like they'll run 2 steps, then pause for a brief moment, then run another two steps... etc, it's like the characters develop a pause "tick" every X number of frames).

There are often little "pieces" of grpahics left behind on the screen. Especially when concerning opponents (like super mutant ducks down and is no longer visible, there's still a small whispy "shadow" where they used to be, note this is not the green character shown when they can be detected but can't be seen).

-----
There is a major bug with sneaking. Even if you leave an opponent's sight and travel some distance, you can still be "detected". This doesnt make sense, and even happens if you put a few walls inbetween you and the character. I often found that this would go away after a period of time, but then again it sometimes didnt (even if my character was in seclusion).

I dont think the character should be able to know that they've been detected unless the enemy can actually perform an action which involves the character (shoot/throw/etc).

Furthermore, characters shouldn't be able to see other characters through solid walls unless they're very close to it or there's some kind of window. That crap makes me sick :x (and it doesnt go well for a "strategy" game).

-----
Characters can set off T45LE mines by stepping on them - which doesn't make much sense because that's an anti-vehicle mine (and you'd have to jump on it real hard to make it go off).

Maybe just a realism thingy, but I killed three of my recruits the first time I played the game because I didnt think that they could set off those mines... (maybe just too much knowledge of explosives on my part).
-----

In quincy (mission 6), the first house - the one with the big alarm on it, has a "hole" in the floor at the entrance to the commander's room. I accidentially had my character setup for aggressive sentry mode and they fired through the "hole" at the baby deathclaw below, officially screwing me for the mission ('cause that one guy got to the alarm before i killed him).

While I probably shouldnt have had aggressive sentry mode on, I probably sohuldn't have been able to shoot through the floor either...

-----
For some reason, the first behemouth you run into can't fire it's .50cal chaingun (buena vista i think, the one with kerr the merchant in it). It's only able to stomp me.

Now this bug did occur after performing a mod on the game, but I didn't amputate the behemouth's chaingun or make it inoperable (it still used 50cal ammo).

Is it supposed to not have a working gun?
View user's profileSend private message
OnTheBounce
TANSTAAFL
TANSTAAFL


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 2257
Location: Grafenwoehr, Oberpfalz, Bayern, Deutschland

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2002 9:44 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Sirgalahadwizard wrote:

Characters can set off T45LE mines by stepping on them - which doesn't make much sense because that's an anti-vehicle mine (and you'd have to jump on it real hard to make it go off).

Maybe just a realism thingy, but I killed three of my recruits the first time I played the game because I didnt think that they could set off those mines... (maybe just too much knowledge of explosives on my part).


So pretend that it's a tilt rod mine. While these can be set off by some schmuck who accidentally runs into the rod, they are extremely effective at taking out the belly of a vehicle. Or your three recruits for that matter. :wink:

Personally, I changed the description for these, putting in a blurb about how although it's an AT mine the fuse is much too sensitive.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Related to Max's problem of NPC to PC to NPC: This also seems to negate the ability to use floating text. I've been working with one of these situations, and the NPC won't use floating text once he's been realigned as a NPC.

OTB
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Max-Violence
Wandering Hero
Wandering Hero


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 1221
Location: In my own personal vault

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2002 1:20 am Reply with quoteBack to top

OnTheBounce wrote:
the NPC won't use floating text once he's been realigned as a NPC.



Yep, but click/windowed speech still works.

Wierd.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
OnTheBounce
TANSTAAFL
TANSTAAFL


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 2257
Location: Grafenwoehr, Oberpfalz, Bayern, Deutschland

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2002 4:16 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Max-Violence wrote:
Yep, but click/windowed speech still works.


Yes, in fact you can even have them force speech while they are still under player control. In the situation I'm scripting right now I hadn't put in a "stop timer" trigger for a certain chain of events yet, and while the NPC-now-a-PC was dashing off w/one of the PCs escorting all of a sudden they both stop running and a click-speech window opened.

Even if this is a bug, it has possibilities...

OTB
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Max-Violence
Wandering Hero
Wandering Hero


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 1221
Location: In my own personal vault

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2002 4:51 am Reply with quoteBack to top

OnTheBounce wrote:
you can even have them force speech while they are still under player control.


Yep - I didn't know that till I played WalterN's Nuevo Laredo map. I'm using that ability extensively from now on smile
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Sirgalahadwizard
Vault Dweller
Vault Dweller


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 151
Location: 7th floor of the west-tek facility.

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2002 2:14 am Reply with quoteBack to top

More bugs:

The Mega-Siren in Quincy (the rotating thingy on the roof) can be activated without killing the mission. Dont know why, but Ive seen it flashing and rotating without ever having set it off (normally it sohuld be dormant). Oh, and being "set off" in this fasion doesn't cause anyone to die or you to lose the mission either.

In quincy there aren't "two savages" in the same room as the mayor, and the deathclaw isnt in the same room as the mayor's daughter.

Springfield isn't incorporated into the main BoS campaign, though the springfield mission appears in the BoS campaign if you take the campaign editor to it.

The "uprising" special encounter no longer appears in it's original location - right next to coppertops and brother's grimm. This is important because it allows you access to two vindicator miniguns (kill the guards, can be done easily with explosives), which are fairly pricy and a little useful when it comes to super mutants.
View user's profileSend private message
Viktor
Desert Wanderer
Desert Wanderer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 530
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2002 7:40 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm not sure if this is a bug or just the AI playing dumb....

Basically, in my final assault on the factory in the Jefferson mission (destroy 4 generators), I noticed that there wasn't as much SM opposition to my frontal assault on generator 4/factory complex as I remember from my last play through of FO:T. On moving my squad to the exit grid in the far NE corner of the map; my squad detected 5 SMs lined up along the E wall of the factory on the extreme E edge of the playable area.

Surely the NPC AI should have found some way (2 paths available) to get these guys to attack my squad???

As it was, my sapper set 3 AP mines at the far NE corner of the factory and took a shot at the end SM to attrack their attention. They obviously weren't the smartest SMs ever dipped as they all ran straight on to the mines. The 2 survivors ran around the corner to find the rest of my squad above them on a gantry....2 Neosteads with slug ammo, 2 .50 cal Brownings and a P90 full of 9mm AP....they didn't survive long!

Anyone else had enemy troops do something strange or dumber than the usual "Oh look, there's a BoS squad with power armour and Gauss miniguns! I'll run over and attack them with my pointed stick!!" foolishness you see on every mission???
View user's profileSend private message
War Bringer
Vault Dweller
Vault Dweller


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 150
Location: Eden Facility 3 Project: Sigma (Testing) In.The.Center.Of.The.Storm

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2002 8:25 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Sirgalahadwizard wrote:
More bugs:

Springfield isn't incorporated into the main BoS campaign, though the springfield mission appears in the BoS campaign if you take the campaign editor to it.

The "uprising" special encounter no longer appears in it's original location - right next to coppertops and brother's grimm. This is important because it allows you access to two vindicator miniguns (kill the guards, can be done easily with explosives), which are fairly pricy and a little useful when it comes to super mutants.


i think the springfield mission was suppose to be secret or something, but not a bug. it's already in the campaign, without downloading the patch/w editor. you just have to activate it. i got the bonus disc, so it did it for me.

as for the "uprising" encounter, i thought most of the encounters were came up in different places (damn, it's too early to think... i can't think of a better word for it...) everytime you played the game.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
Viktor
Desert Wanderer
Desert Wanderer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 530
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 4:03 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

After repulsing the SMs charging the N/W/S gates of the Cathedral in Kansas City, the ghoul defenders had suffered quite a few KIAs....(especially the irradiated idiot that running in front of Trevor and his trusty Ma Deuce.... He's short-sighted, trigger happy and carries a .50 Browning MG....would YOU run infront of him during a firefight??)

I knew from my last play through this would get me the "Because you couldn't save all the ghouls, Bishop didn't give the BoS the manuals for Plutonius and now the scribes are putting other work aside to study it.....Your inability to fully follow your orders has been noted.." from Dekker on my return to Bunker Gamma.

So you can imagine my surprise to meet one of the Cathedral ghouls in Bunker G, who tells you he's here to deliver the manuals for the nuke!!

WTF???
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


Jump to:  



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group