Stuck on St. Louis mission

Like Tactics? Found a cool mod for another game that reminds you of Fallout? Playing those crappy spin-off console games called "Fallout"? Discuss here.
Slashco
SDF!
SDF!

Stuck on St. Louis mission

Post by Slashco »

Yeah, so I'm new to the game... Anyway, I don't understand how to complete this mission. The part giving me trouble is the hill to the northwest. There seems to be only one entrance, and as soon as I send anyone there they get killed in one hit. There doesn't seem to be any way to get inside since SM's are guarding the entrance on permanent overwatch mode. There are also mines which my 95% trapper can't detect.

Am I missing something? So far this seems impossible.
OnTheBounce
TANSTAAFL
TANSTAAFL

Post by OnTheBounce »

Yes, you're missing something all right, namely that you're not supposed to go inside the SM Operations Center, which is what you're trying to get into. That place has abosolutely nothing to do with completing the mission, so you might want to spare yourself some of the headache and just leave it alone.

But then again, you might not want to leave it alone, so I will give you two little tricks that you can use to figure out a solution.

First, the APC can cross the "moat" around the SM Operations Center. I suggest crossing it at the SE corner, right near a pile of sandbags that has a chest near it.

Second, there is a "secret" (hard to see, really) entrance along the eastern side of the SM Operations Center, near the NE corner. You can get troops up there, but I recommend clearing off the bulk of the SMs defending it first, else you'll probably have more than a few KIAs thanks to SMs w/SAWs and a nasty height advantage.

It's up to you now.

Cheers,

OTB

PS This should go w/o saying, but, "Save your game before you try any of it." I doubt you'll get it first try and you very well may get the APC stuck in the moat, which means you'll be unable to complete the mission.