Duck and Cover Forum Index


Use these links, buy stuff from Amazon and help us out, nubs.
Amazon.com | Amazon.ca | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.de
  Duck and Cover  •  FAQ  •  Search  •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   •  Register  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

 Support DAC!
 Custom Entity Questions... View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
ogreb
Respected
Respected


Joined: 29 Aug 2005
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:46 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm making custom entities for my campaign ( I still haven't decided wiether to wrap it in with the BOS campaign or make it a stand alone campaign..)

Now..the questions..

Where are the portraits!? Do I still need to unzip a folder?


How come my custom entities don't show all hitpoints?
I made some Player 1 custom entities..leveled them up to 6...plugged them in, but when I start the mission they have only thier level one hitpoints and show up Severly Wounded etc
I tried messing around in the editor but all it does is add more hitpoints etc

STARFURY...dazzle me with your never ending wisdom!

This is all coming together...I should have a mission ready in a week or so and the campaign in 4 to 5 months( I have nothing but time!)


So I need to write down the display name of a Recruit and overwrite the display name of my custom entities.
And then edit the char. text for name and description...

So for entities being spoken to...should I just skip portraits or use a recruit( which is modified)?
I guess that's a personal choice...

So how about the hitpoints?

Thanks in advance..
View user's profileSend private message
requiem_for_a_starfury
Hero of the Wastes
Hero of the Wastes


Joined: 29 Oct 2002
Posts: 1820

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 7:59 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Portraits are in gui_0.bos and extract to core\gui\char if you are just going to use a few you can just rename the portrait to match your character, or you can add your own portraits. Just make a png 75x100 and convert it to a zar using FT Tools and place it in yourpath\gui\char.

If you're going to use a lot of the character portraits from the game then change the display name of your character in the entity and in the characters.txt to match the portrait. That way you don't need to include them when you pack the mod for distribution.

When you level using the entity editor it changes the character's maximum hitpoints but not their current hitpoints (but I guess you've already found that out smile ). To bring them up to full health scroll down to Current Attributes/Actor Status and change the number of hitpoints to match the total. After all this time I still forget to do this more often than not.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
ogreb
Respected
Respected


Joined: 29 Aug 2005
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 10:54 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

You kind of lost me with your second paragraph ( were you talking about using already set names and descriptions?)

I am using BOS Campaign portraits..because I have enough to do just making the maps!(maybe later I'll dragout the digital camera and voice recording stuff...)

Wouldn't the easiest way be to just make a char text and generic text in my custom campaign folder and write my own?

I've kept careful lists of portraits( full path!) and corresponding player.

That's what I'm doing to speech....

Willow Creek ( the first map I'm releasing) has 60 some odd speech nodes...over three hundred+ lines of text.
Over 50 triggers...of course many are just lights..
...and alot of that text is terminal information ( security reports,lab results..etc.)
I'm just finishing the triggers..text...playtesting.
I have several other maps in various stages...


So just writing new charname and descpritions is not going to affect the game....it must not!.. because I've seen 2 Farsight portraits used during the campaign.



Man...! I wish the floor tiles were bigger...takes forever to line out roads etc..
Glad there's group and drag...
View user's profileSend private message
requiem_for_a_starfury
Hero of the Wastes
Hero of the Wastes


Joined: 29 Oct 2002
Posts: 1820

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 11:58 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

ogreb wrote:
You kind of lost me with your second paragraph ( were you talking about using already set names and descriptions?)
No I was talking about changing the text inside the brackets and keeping the displayname/filename the same. Otherwise you'd need to include all your changed portraits with your maps and that can add up.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


Jump to:  



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group