Duck and Cover Forum Index


Use these links, buy stuff from Amazon and help us out, nubs.
Amazon.com | Amazon.ca | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.de
  Duck and Cover  •  FAQ  •  Search  •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   •  Register  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

 Support DAC!
 Help DaC View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Mr. Teatime
Righteous Subjugator
Righteous Subjugator


Joined: 19 May 2003
Posts: 3340

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 5:54 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

[Community -> Update]

DaC is looking for help. As most people know, we've had a bunch of problems lately. At the moment DarkUnderlord is the only coder about aside from Calis who helps out in emergencies (if it weren't for him I wouldn't be able to make this news post).

So, whilst we're open to offers of help on any area of the site, what we could use right now is another coder who can work with PHP, MySQL, phpbb (especially with the upcoming phpbb 3.0 which is going to require some work to get us upgraded...), and so on. There's not that much work to do, the main thing will be to fix bugs and occasionally update our systems. What is required really is some dedication to the site, ability to do the code, and being around relatively frequently.

If you think you can help, let us know either in a reply here or in PM.
View user's profileSend private message
S4ur0n27
Mamma's Gang member
Mamma's Gang member


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Posts: 15143
Location: Motherfucking Plateau

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 9:32 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Brown nose a requirement? tard
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteMSN MessengerICQ Number
Mr. Teatime
Righteous Subjugator
Righteous Subjugator


Joined: 19 May 2003
Posts: 3340

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 9:33 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Nope. Just some dedication and ability icon_mrhappy
View user's profileSend private message
DarkUnderlord
Paragon
Paragon


Joined: 01 May 2002
Posts: 2371
Location: I've got a problem with my Goggomobil. Goggo-mobil. G-O-G-G-O. Yeah, 1954. Yeah, no not the Dart.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 3:17 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Think of it as a chance to work on some PHP on a live site that gets more than a couple of thousand unique visits a day.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
POOPERSCOOPER
Paparazzi
Paparazzi


Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 5022
Location: California

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:16 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I can do it, i know how to quote stuff on the forum,s and things.
View user's profileSend private messageAIM Address
Raymondo
Pussy Lord
Pussy Lord


Joined: 15 Feb 2003
Posts: 623

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:45 am Reply with quoteBack to top

You should hire me, I'm the greatest with PHP.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
Fez
Strider of the Wastes
Strider of the Wastes


Joined: 18 May 2002
Posts: 900

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 1:35 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

PHP is vile magic.

If I knew anything about it, I'd help out. icon_razz
View user's profileSend private message
Calis
Righteous Subjugator
Righteous Subjugator


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 6:45 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I see the superglobal gives the right value again; was I correct on what the problem was, Teatime?
View user's profileSend private message
Mr. Teatime
Righteous Subjugator
Righteous Subjugator


Joined: 19 May 2003
Posts: 3340

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:47 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Here's the reply I got which I don't think they'll mind me quoting:

Quote:
Your friend's diagnosis is half-right; the site's own apache config does contain the correct ServerName, but after the migration some requests are still made to the old server, which passes them on to the new one. Requests which are passed on like this see a different part of the apache config, which doesn't (and unfortunately can't) contain the specific ServerName for the site. The DNS for your domain is now pointing directly to the new web server, so only people who are still seeing the old dns cached will be having this problem; the information should disappear from all caches in the next 24 hours, so after that time the problem should be gone.
View user's profileSend private message
ApTyp
250 Posts til Somewhere
250 Posts til Somewhere


Joined: 29 May 2002
Posts: 2694

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 8:33 am Reply with quoteBack to top

hey i installed apache, mysql, and php5 on my winxp machine.... and i've worked on php and mysql a coupla years a go....

it doesn't sound all that hard unless you want to specialize in all of that. because specialization = 5 years of experience. a dudei know, he told me you have to have 5 years of experience to be considered as expert in TCP/IP communications for some platform. Seriously. Doesn anyone around here have that kind of time to wait ?
View user's profileSend private message
DarkUnderlord
Paragon
Paragon


Joined: 01 May 2002
Posts: 2371
Location: I've got a problem with my Goggomobil. Goggo-mobil. G-O-G-G-O. Yeah, 1954. Yeah, no not the Dart.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:48 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Well, I built the code that runs DAC during a year of learning PHP (before which I knew nothing) so...

Raymondo wrote:
You should hire me, I'm the greatest with PHP.

Now make an array of text strings and use the random number you generate to pull out a random quote from that array, then use a php script to generate an image using a font on the server and bingo, you've got DAC's 'random slogan' system in a bag.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


Jump to:  



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group