Duck and Cover Forum Index


Use these links, buy stuff from Amazon and help us out, nubs.
Amazon.com | Amazon.ca | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.de
  Duck and Cover  •  FAQ  •  Search  •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   •  Register  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

 Support DAC!
 You guys are gonna hate me... especially JJ86... View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Poll :: What should I do?

Make everyone start over
33%
 33%  [ 2 ]
Make Rebellion4 into Revenge1
66%
 66%  [ 4 ]
Total Votes : 6


Author Message
Max-Violence
Wandering Hero
Wandering Hero


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 1221
Location: In my own personal vault

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 10:34 am Reply with quoteBack to top

OK, so I just realized that I screwed up big time.

You see, my original plan for Rebellion was to have 3 maps. So, that's how I set up the campaign.txt, generic_mission.txt, and the .cam file.

Well, I changed my mind right after I finished Rebellion1 to make the campaign 4 maps. So, I just changed the g_m.txt and campaign.txt and the rebellion.cam files.

Well, guess what? The transition from RB3 to RB4 doesn't happen. I'm 100% sure everything should work, but it doesn't. My guess is because the game ignores changes to the .cam file after the first map is loaded. So, unless I or someone else can figure out how to get around that, I've some problems

1 - I'm about 90% done with RB3. As in 90% done with everything. That's a problem because I've made the map (and RB2) with the intention of having a fourth map.

2 - Since I can't get the game to recognize the changes to the .cam file, the only way for the campaign to go like I want it to is for me (and everyone who's played the thing so far) to restart from Rebellion1.

So, either a miracle happens, or everyone gets to start over (hence the post subject). Technically, I could do some major surgery to RB3 to make it make sense that the fourth map isn't "there" (in a nutshell, I'll make RB4 the first map of the Revenge campaign).

So, what do you fellers think I should do? Obviously, if I make everyone start over, I'll retouch RB1 and RB2 to make it (at least somewhat) worthwhile.

Note that option #2 on the poll would be faster for me to do.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Jimmyjay86
Hero of the Glowing Lands
Hero of the Glowing Lands


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 2102
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 8:02 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I won't hate ya MV! It might be best to make it the start of a new campaign. I know I wouldn't start over again - Reb1 was a pain and Reb2 was ten times worse in the basement. Arggh, stll haven't finished that hell-hole.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Flamescreen
Vault Hero
Vault Hero


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 1017
Location: Stone of Light Land

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 1:48 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Good think I couldn't try it lately. icon_mrhappy
Be sure I won't hate you. You can even start over(runs to hide from JJ86) Laughing REALLY FUCKING HARD
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Max-Violence
Wandering Hero
Wandering Hero


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 1221
Location: In my own personal vault

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 8:29 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Yeah, I'm just gonna make RB4 into RV1. I've already figured out (and done) what I need to do to make it all make sense, so that's that.

Note to self: Plan better!
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


Jump to:  



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group